Hand-Embroidered Tea Runners

 

Wang Yingying (王莹莹) is a young Chinese artist who designs and hand-stitches these tea runners. I was stunned the first time I saw her arts. They took my breath away.
I came across her Weibo site and became one of her followers. Among her daily posts there are many photos shot in the nature showing where she drew her inspiration. I love them as much as her tea runners. Her unique vision brings me back to the China I thought I lost.

“After all these years, I still insist on doing embroidery only when I feel like, and not doing it when I don’t.” So this is the secret behind her art, as simple as what a good Taoist teacher would teach.

She lives in Chaoyang District, Beijing. Or you can find her here: http://tw.weibo.com/pinkcuckoo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

